PENTWATER HISTORICAL SOCIETY ANNUAL DINNER MEETING

Minutes of the annual general meeting and dinner

Wednesday, August 28th, 2019

President Dick Warner called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Dick first thanked Debbie Deward and her committee for coordinating the dinner. The dinner was catered by The Q Smoke House from Ludington. Dick thanked the owner, Dave Diephouse.

All volunteers were reminded to pick up their thank-you mug if they have not received one yet. Also, everyone was reminded that we still have some dates open at the museum for hosting opportunities in September and October.

Dick thanked Ron Beeber, Amy LaBarge and Nancy Zielinski for donating funds for and implementing our "Guide by Cell" program in the museum. It brought many people into the museum to check it out.

Dick then thanked the team that created and made our PHS float for the Homecoming Parade. It was Cyndy and George Mikulyuk and Penny and Ron Bach. Also thanked was Jim Lambrix, who as marketing director worked with them to get it started. It won first place in the parade.

It was announced that the videos being made by Bart Zachrich and high school student, Lucas Quinteros, will be shown at our spring dinner in 2020. They are interviews of long-time residents of Pentwater.

Joan Gehringer then read the recommended 2019-20 officer and trustee board nominees. They are as follows:

President – Dick Warner Vice-President – Norm Shotwell

Treasurer – Bart Zachrich Secretary – Joan Gehringer

Museum Director – Nancy Zielinski Technology Director – Mark Shotwell

Marketing Director – Jim Lambrix Membership Director – Sally Ouweneel

Trustee – Terry Roach (2-year term expiring in 2021)

Trustee – Debbie Deward (3-year term expiring in 2022)

Continuing Trustee – Amy VanderZwart (expiring in 2020)

It was moved, seconded and unanimously approved to accept the nominees.

Dick Warner asked retiring treasurer, Mike Castor, to come up. He then honored Mike with a resolution from the board. He thanked Mike for his 8 years of service as treasurer. Also, for his loyalty, dedication, leadership and his outstanding devotion to the society. Mike also took on the electrical needs at the new museum.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>: Mike Castor reported that the dues structure changed this year. Annual membership went from \$20 to \$50. We are still honoring life and patron members. The majority of life members have stepped up with a \$50 donation.

Mike went on to say that the memorial donations are up, but the daily donations are down from last year.

We try to keep between \$2,000 to \$4,000 in the checking account. Our immediate savings account has a balance of \$24,000. Our long-term savings has a balance of \$60,000. All of our bills are paid at this point.

Upcoming bills for the year will be the hook-up to the village sewer which will come to approximately \$5,800. We also need to replace the roof at a cost of approximately \$30,000. Also, our handicap ramp needs to be replaced.

Father Sam Morrison asked for a moment of silence for those members that have passed away in the last year. They were Myrna Carlin, Gretha Moak, Celene Susan, Hal Carlin, Gerry Coon, Al LaBarge, Renee Berrgren-Connoy, Ed Bigelow, Bruce Bates, Newell Wright, Robert Childers and Dolores Samuel. Father Sam then gave a general blessing.

We then had the 50/50 drawing. Diane Bullard, who sold the tickets, said that the winning ticket holder will win \$143. The winner was Marti Donges.

Next was the drawing for the rifle that Bill Bigelow donated. Mark Shotwell was in charge of the ticket sales. He reported that we sold 54 tickets for a total of \$1,080. The winning ticket belonged to Fred Cisler who was not there, but will be contacted.

Our speaker for the evening was LTJG Carolyn Smith from the U.S. Coast Guard. She showed pictures and spoke about the Coast Guard Cutter Mackinaw. She then answered questions from the audience.

Dick Warner thanked everyone for attending our summer dinner.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Gehringer – PHS Board Secretary